Question:
Magic the gathering double strike question.?
borgking2002
15 years ago
If a creature with double strike hits a player directly does that creature hit the player with 2 separate attacks using double strike therefor dealing damage twice?
Three answers:
Gerard Foley
15 years ago
Yes, that is the point of double strike (the clue is in the name :)



Here are the rules for double strike if you want to read them:



702.4. Double Strike

702.4a Double strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step. (See rule 510, “Combat Damage Step.”)

702.4b If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

702.4c Removing double strike from a creature during the first combat damage step will stop it from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step.

702.4d Giving double strike to a creature with first strike after it has already dealt combat damage in the first combat damage step will allow the creature to assign combat damage in the second combat damage step.

702.4e Multiple instances of double strike on the same creature are redundant.



EDIT: The above example of a 4/4 double striker doing 4 damage to it's blocker, then doing 4 damage to the player is WRONG. If a creature is blocked, it remains blocked for the rest of combat, even if all it's blockers are destroyed, and will not be able to deal damage to the player or plainswalker it was attacking (unless it has trample).
Teddy Fick
15 years ago
yup! double strike deals both first strike and normal combat dmg so if you attacked with a student of warfare a 4/4 with double strike it would deal 8 dmg to a player OR if the defending player blocked once that player would still get hit for 4 because he/she was unable to block the second atk
liggans
9 years ago
I'll take those individually: "Let's say I have a four/four creature with double strike, and I assault my opponent, however he does not have any blockers, does he then take eight harm to his existence counter?" Yes, he does take eight harm. "Another situation: Let's say I have a four/four with double stike and my opponent blocks with a one million/one million with Wither.. does the wither ever come onto my creature for the reason that the primary strike killed it earlier than he would do harm to my four/four." You're correct, the primary strike harm kills the wither creature earlier than it could possibly positioned a -one million/-one million counter to your four/four. However, you are going to now not deal any harm in your opponent, as your creature continues to be regarded "blocked" for this battle, despite the fact that the blocker is lifeless. If you had trample to your four/four, nonetheless, you might deal one million harm to the wither creature, trample three over, then deal four for consistent harm.


This content was originally posted on Y! Answers, a Q&A website that shut down in 2021.
Loading...